Sign In

​Danielle's Handmaid's Tale Readalikes List

Meet Danielle

Danielle is Phoenix Public Library’s Electronic Resources Librarian and works as part of the Collection Development team. When she is not shopping for eBooks or managing databases, you can find her hiking, reading, seeing live music, or chilling on her couch with her husband and cat.

Meet her list

As you may know, I'm a big fan of the dystopian genre. I was making a list of things I wanted to read when I noticed a similar thread throughout. I would characterize this list as dystopian books with strong female characters from all walks of life. Technically, The Dog Stars has a male protagonist, but I've heard great things so that's why it makes the list! It's my list and I'll do what I want! :) Because I haven't read these yet, I'm relying on others to help describe some of them/entice you.

Let's read these together in 2018!


The power : a novel
 
 
One of the New York Times's, Washington Post's and NPR's Best Books of 2017
The word exchange : a novel
 
 
"A nervy, nerdy dystopian thriller." —The New York Times Book Review

Parable of the sower 
by Butler, Octavia E.

A dystopian classic!

The silent history
 
 
"Brilliant . . . A vital work of art." ―The Huffington Post
When she woke
 
 
"Jordan manages to open up powerful feminist and political themes without becoming overly preachy—and the parallels with Hawthorne are fun to trace."—Kirkus
The book of the unnamed midwife
 
 
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2016 and Philip K. Dick Award Winner
On such a full sea
 
 
"I've never been a fan of grand hyperbolic declarations in book reviews, but faced with On Such a Full Sea, I have no choice but to ask: Who is a greater novelist than Chang-rae Lee today?"—Porochista Khakpour, The Los Angeles Times
The dog stars
 
 
 "Extraordinary. . . . One of those books that makes you happy for literature." —Junot Díaz, The Wall Street Journal
The age of miracles : a novel
 
 
"A genuinely moving tale that mixes the real and surreal, the ordinary and the extraordinary, with impressive fluency and flair."—Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times
The natural way of things
 
 
"[Wood's] short, gripping book begins as an allegory of thuggish misogyny then evolves into a far stranger and more challenging feminist parable."—John Powers, Fresh Air  
When the floods came
 
 
"The measured pace of the story is mesmeric; the wilfulness of adolescence excruciatingly well drawn"―Gwyneth Jones, Guardian

Ask Us Help Site Map